Service change

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-30-06, 12:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
Service change

I'm ready to put up my new 200 amp service BUT i want some clarification that i can keep the old service live until the Poco comes to change over. I was planning on moving everything over to the new panel, thus emptying the orignial and then using a 40 amp double pole breaker backfeed into the new panel, with it's main shut off. This is all i have seen done around here by pros so i would assume it's safe.? The main would be Locked into the off postion just incase a vagabond broke into and for some reason turned it on. Yes?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-30-06, 06:04 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
If you are asking... Yes install the new drop, meter bucket and panel. Install the ground rod and bond indoor water pipes. Then yes you can.

When the POCO disconnects the old and powers the new. you will then move all the old ckts over.
 
  #3  
Old 12-30-06, 06:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
Can i not move them all before they switch over? I wouldn't have them all on just like the fridge and the living room lights ..


Can you explain to me the inspection process?
 
  #4  
Old 12-30-06, 06:39 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Process for a new/upgrade service:
1) call POCO get a servo#. This puts you on record for them to calculate their demand, and see if they need to upgrade the drop.
2) Get a permit thru the town, providing them with the servo#
3) Schedule the POCO to disconnect existing service.(at the pole) They are very strict here on you disconnecting their power.
4) tear out old service, install new and get POCO to turn power on.
5)the inspector checks
We are responsible for permenant connections at the weather head.

Inspections:Service
1) get the permit
2) Install the equipment
3) The inspector comes and looks (at a predetermined time).

If you install a new service,you can move all but the essential ckts over, then get inspected,powerd then move the remainder of ckts over.
 
  #5  
Old 12-30-06, 06:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
We are responsible for connections at drip loop?! Not here, the Poco does it?
 
  #6  
Old 12-30-06, 06:59 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
In Massachusetts YES. (depending on the utility,we have many here).
I don't know where you are.
 
  #7  
Old 12-30-06, 07:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
Well i was planning on intalling my new servie right next to the old one , moving ALL my circuits to the new panel then leaving most off AND the main breaker and backfeeding the new panel from the old one until they do the switch over . Here In Pa they do the switch over when they do it and usually the estimated date is no where near right . So i dont want to come home and see they did the switch over and i have no power to my circuits .
 
  #8  
Old 12-30-06, 07:16 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
I would not back feed the new panel. Too many "what ifs'" involved.
 
  #9  
Old 12-30-06, 08:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
The Main would be Locked into the OFF postion... what other variables should i take into account?
 
  #10  
Old 12-30-06, 08:09 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Smile

I gave you MY answer. Move what you can, then move the rest.

Get on their butts, then use a vacation day....Done.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'