single pole switch???

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-01-07, 04:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 197
single pole switch???

Hello all

I need to replace a few single pole switches in my home..
the previous owner left a box of brand new three way switches in the garage,
can I use those in place of a single pole switch or is that a no no..
the new switches has four terminals (3 plus a ground)
if I can use these how would I install them
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-01-07, 04:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Yes, you can use them. Attach the two wires to the common terminal and one traveler terminal. Attach the ground wire to the ground terminal. You will have to experiment to figure out which traveler to attach to so that you can have the traditional "UP" = "ON" operation.
 
  #3  
Old 01-01-07, 05:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 197
cool thanks
now I'll go post my other questions
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes