Installing new lights in 100 yr old house

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-05-07, 11:20 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: iowa
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing new lights in 100 yr old house

I have a bathroom which I need to put new lights and outlets in. I am working with a interior wall but the walls are 2 - 2.5 inches thick. Any suggestions on boxes to use for the outlets and the light fixtures? The new light fixtures are to mount in the wall above the mirror.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-05-07, 01:09 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What type of wiring you using?

You are creating at least one 20AMP dedicated circuit that is GFCI protected for the outlet?
 
  #3  
Old 01-05-07, 01:15 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: iowa
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is a near by light fixture and outlet I am going to get power from. I will be installing GFCIs. The main question is with the 'old work' boxes available they do not allow for old plaster and laft walls with sheet rock over top of them. Longer screws might work but wondered if there was a better solution I was over looking.
 
  #4  
Old 01-05-07, 01:31 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They make snap-in type boxes that have clips and fasters that will hold it in the wall. Do not use a ordinary wall box, as these are to be only fastened to structural members (studs) in the walls per the NEC. (550.15(I))
 
  #5  
Old 01-05-07, 02:54 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Where the cows roam, CA
Posts: 2,204
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
*Bump*

Saurd,

This thread has been moved from the Bathroom Remodeling Forum to the Electric Forum. The duplicate thread you created has been deleted.
 
  #6  
Old 01-06-07, 05:37 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Saurd, these boxes are usually called "Old Work", you put them into the existing wall, and tighten a screw which pulls a plastic plate to the inside of the wall.
 
  #7  
Old 01-06-07, 05:42 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You cannot tap an existing circuit. You must run a new circuit, 20 amps, for the bathroom.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: