2 wires?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-05-07, 10:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,166
2 wires?

I'm installing new fixtures in some gate lights on wood posts. They connect to the line at a GFCI, running out of the load terminals. The GFCI is properly grounded. Both light fixtures have two wires, no ground. Is this correct for outdoor lights?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-06-07, 04:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Lights that do not have a metal frame and no metal parts (except the light socket, switch and wires) have nothing to attach a ground wire to, so there is no ground wire.

The box that these lights are attached to needs to be grounded (if it is metal).
 
  #3  
Old 01-06-07, 04:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Something is holding the light socket in place. If that something or anything else about the light fixture is made of metal, then it DOES need a ground wire.
 
  #4  
Old 01-06-07, 06:13 PM
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 159
Jwhite, see 410.18. Bits and pieces of a light fixture are permitted to be ungrounded. If there is metal holding the fixture together and those pieces aren't exposed to a user of the system, then no grounding is required.

Check the instructions that came with the fixture, it may have additional grounding instructions that can't be found in the NEC. At any rate, it should have the grounding instructions detailed if necessary.
 
  #5  
Old 01-07-07, 05:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,166
Well I'm installing "new fixtures" in the sense that I'm replacing the existing HPS sockets/ballasts with outdoor incandescent sockets. I'm just wiring them in in place of the ballasts, which are 150 watts each, the bulbs cost > $20, the ballast is absurdly expensive to replace, and one of them has gone out so I'm converting both. And I don't need that much light. The floodlight sockets I'll use have a green ground screw, so I'll wire to that. But the second light still never makes it to the ground because of the wood post. Again there are only two wires to the lamps. My original question was whether the ground on the outlet takes care of the two lamps or do I need to upgrade something?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'