problem with lights/refrigerator

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-07-07, 02:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eureka
Posts: 4
problem with lights/refrigerator

My father in law has a florescent fixture in his kitchen that swiches off periodically. I checked the house breakers and none of them are tripped when this happens. I replaced the ballast and put in new bulbs which made the unit work great but after a few minutes the power still goes off to the overhead floresent lights without tripping any breaker. Now...the refrigerator clicks off each time this happens but the light inside the refrigerator stays on. Is there some kind of overload protection that the refigerator motor has that can somehow effect a light fixture? After about five minutes the overhead florescents will come on again. I don't get it. There are some suspect hanging lights above the sink that are a million years old that don't work. I was trying to replace a bulb in one and when the bulb touched the unit, the over head florescents went out. The house is about 80 years old.
Thanks for any help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-07-07, 02:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
just an off the wall guess, but I am gonna say that the fridge and light are on the same circuit, and that the circuit is not properly grounded.
 
  #3  
Old 01-07-07, 03:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eureka
Posts: 4
Thanks jwhite. So I test between the hot and ground on the switches and outlets to find a loose ground wire connection?
 
  #4  
Old 01-07-07, 06:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eureka
Posts: 4
Actually I am wondering why the lights would go out and then come on. Does this mean the breaker is bad and partially shuts off but then snaps back to on?
 
  #5  
Old 01-11-07, 11:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eureka
Posts: 4
I found there were actually two separated circuts that were having problems so I opened the panel and looked for a loose neutral wire or any loose wire. I couldn't find any. PG&E came out and fixed it. I am bummed. I never did find out what the exact problem was.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes