GFCI - Breakers or Receptacles

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-09-07, 10:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
GFCI - Breakers or Receptacles

Should GFCI Breakers or Receptacles be used for New Construction Kitchen & Baths?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-09-07, 10:58 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,618
Either one will provide the same protection.

Receptacles are about $12-15, breakers run around $40-45. Receptacles are easier to reset should they trip.
 
  #3  
Old 01-09-07, 12:12 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 44,342
Also if wired correctly a GFI receptacle will protect all devices further down the line.

They can be wired just for the individual location or for the rest of the circuit.
 
  #4  
Old 01-09-07, 01:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,219
Should? Code permits either way to be used, so there is no legal 'should' involved here other than 'use one or the other'.

As has been mentioned, GFCI receptacles are cheaper than GFCI breakers.

The most _convenient_ installation from the customer's point of view is to have a separate GFCI receptacle at each required location. If something trips the GFCI then it is _right there_. This, of course, blows any cost savings, and is also annoying when it comes time to _test_ the GFCIs.

-Jon
 
  #5  
Old 01-09-07, 01:50 PM
jn
jn is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 226
When I am trying to decide which one to use I consider which would be easier to find and reset if there was a problem.
If I am wiring a couple outlets in a kitchen and they are in plain sight above a countertop within reach of each other, I would probably just use the receptacle.
If I am protecting an outlet that a hot tub will use, and the plug is not by the hot-tub...maybe in the basement below it, I would use a GFCI breaker.
If the circuit bounces around alot protecting outlets in a garage etc, a breaker may make more sense.
Just my 2 cents...
There are hundreds of posts on here where someone has some dead outlets and doesn't know why... just to find a little reset button was popped somewhere behind a stack of plywood on a seldomly used wall of a garage.
 
  #6  
Old 01-09-07, 02:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Smile

Thanks everyone!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes