Electrician's Staple gun

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-10-07, 01:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arlington
Posts: 181
Electrician's Staple gun

I saw a staple gun in Home Depot the other day that shoots staples made for attaching electrical wire top studs etc.. Was wondering if anyone had any experience with these & if it would be worth the $35 plus staples to wire my entire house or if I should just get the normal staples & hand drive them.

Thanks,
Dan
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-10-07, 02:12 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,627
I have the Power Fast one from Desa. If you have the room for the gun it is very fast and easy to use. I find mine jams more than I like and the staples are about $14 for 400, much more than the regular staples. They are great for attaching cables to the sides of TJI's, regular staples seem to bounce off.

Gardner-Bender, I think, has one that allows you to use different staples for cable TV and phone wires, along with the ones for the 14-2, 12-2, 14-3 and 12-3.
 
  #3  
Old 01-10-07, 03:41 PM
ElectricalMan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Harrisonburg
Posts: 744
nah.....for me give me the ole' hammer and traditional staples anyday. But again I am old fashion...
 
  #4  
Old 01-10-07, 05:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
For DIYer's (and myself) I think the plastic straps with attached little nails are superior to the all metal staples. Almost no chance of overdriving.
 
  #5  
Old 01-19-07, 09:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Smile Best thing since sliced bread....

I was sceptical too when I first started doing electrical, but after wacking my fingers one too many times (while juggling the wire, staple, and hammer over head) I bought one of these strap guns and I would never go back. Saves a ton of time!!! Best $35 you will ever spend.
 
  #6  
Old 01-20-07, 06:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,268
Let's face it... it's a new tool..... if you didn't need it - they wouldn't make it.....
 
  #7  
Old 01-20-07, 06:39 AM
Hellrazor's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Eastern USA
Posts: 1,038
I wouldn't go that far.. look at the autoclamps they came out with. Useless..
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes