Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

May have hit electrical conduit while installing chair rail

May have hit electrical conduit while installing chair rail

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-13-07, 06:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
May have hit electrical conduit while installing chair rail

Well I was practically all done putting it in and then one of the nails which went into the stud shocks me every time I touch the nail. What should I do? Is it OK to remove the nail and just let the wire be inside the wall or should I attempt to cut the drywall and tape up the wire?

thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-13-07, 06:20 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
you need to open the wall and see what you hit and then go from there
 
  #3  
Old 01-13-07, 06:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
If you did hit an electrical wire, you may not just tape it. You will either have to replace the wire back to the junction box at each end, or install one or two junction boxes and add or replace a section of cable.
 
  #4  
Old 01-13-07, 07:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Originally Posted by racraft View Post
If you did hit an electrical wire, you may not just tape it. You will either have to replace the wire back to the junction box at each end, or install one or two junction boxes and add or replace a section of cable.
Why so? I'm an electrical novice, so I guess I don't understand why simply patching a cable wouldn't suffice? Thanks.
 
  #5  
Old 01-13-07, 07:59 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Do you want a risk of a fire by just taping it up? Specially in a area where it's at it would be a fire waiting to happen. Not to mention completely against the National Electric Code.
 
  #6  
Old 01-14-07, 11:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Turns out I hit a cable going through a stud...and its about 3/4" thick and 1/4" wide, not sure what it is for. There is a receptacle about 3 feet below it and seems like its going straight to it. I only opened the wall about 3" by 3" to see inside. Looks like its time to call an electrician.
 
  #7  
Old 01-14-07, 12:14 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
I agree!.....
 
  #8  
Old 01-17-07, 09:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 15
You may want to invest in a stud/ac finder, I picked mine up for about 30 bucks and it finds every live wire behind the wall, has helped me many times.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'