Box question

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-26-07, 08:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,136
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Box question

Moving light over bath sink - old light had a box that came flush with the sheetrock even before a cover plate. The bottom is attached to a horizontal 2x4 -I've tried prying it up but it is stubborn. I ran a romex 12/2 over to my new box which is blue with ears. B/c it is in behind the new light it doesn't need to be recessed like the other which will be visible so I need to repair the sheetrock at this old box.
1- is there a box I can put where the old box is that I can install a bit recessed so the box plate will be able to be mudded over?
2-I need a box with two knockouts on the right so I can screw a clamp to hold both in and out wires.
3-How do I remove the old and install the new if I only have a 2x3 ' space to work in?
4-In banging the old around I might be able to mud over the plate of the old box thus saving work - only code violation(I think) is I can't clamp the new romex to the box.
* Sorry to send this sort of hard to read message but it's hard to make a long story short. Thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-26-07, 08:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You cannot cover over the old box. It MUST remain permanently accessible as long as there is a connection inside it.

Replace the cable all the way back to it's start location routed to the new location and then you can do whatever you want to the old box, as long as the wires are abandoned.
 
  #3  
Old 01-28-07, 11:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,136
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
box

Well, although I did not like what I heard, I do appreciate the heards up before the work is done rather than after.
Off to the think tank b/c I doubt these townhouse walls can be fished with success due to erratic framing.
Thank you
 
  #4  
Old 01-28-07, 04:17 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What type of light do you have? You may not need to move the box.

If this is a 3' typye with a back plate, these are suitable for splices,Just relocate the mounting holes.
 
  #5  
Old 01-29-07, 05:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,136
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
box

The old box is 2x3 + I wire nuted my new romex to the wires inside the old box and ran the new romex about three feet to the site of my new box. The new site is hot . It would be great if I could just put a plate over the old box and mud over but the last message said I have to have access to the old box.
Are you saying I could just splice at the site of the old box as I have? I do not understand what you mean about relocating the mounting holes. Yes, it is a 3 inch box with a back plate. The light at the new box is a regular 14/2 fixture. Thank you for your help and I look forward to hearing from you.
 
  #6  
Old 01-29-07, 06:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,549
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Fixture

What are dimensions of the fixture? Will it cover the old box?
 
  #7  
Old 01-29-07, 06:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What I told you is correct. You may not cover over the old box with mud so that it is not accessible.

The others are suggesting that if the new fixture covers the old box then you may be able to cut new mounting holes in the new fixture and use the old box.

Bottom line, and this is quite simple, the old junction box containing your splice must be permanently accessible without cutting into the wall or removing part of the structure. It would be okay to remove the light fixture to get at it.
 
  #8  
Old 01-29-07, 07:25 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The simplest solution for making an old box permanently accessible is a blank cover plate. You'll notice it for the first few weeks, and then you'll never notice it again.
 
  #9  
Old 01-29-07, 11:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,136
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
box

I guess I am not explaing myself well - I do understand that I cannot cover the old box with wires in it. It is about three feet away from the new box which the fixture will cover. The old box is in the center of the wall about a foot from the top so a plate would be too obvious but thanx for the suggestion.
I have two choices I believe; 1-try to fish the wall to bypass the old box and go from an accessible source -even the circuit box if necessary. These old townhouses run their 2x4's very randomly - besides the old cable I'd like to grab has been stapled as it should have been so just grabbing it doesn't mean I can pull it over to the new site - I'd really have to open the wall and re-sheet rock after wiring properly, or
2-hire an electrician.
Thank you all for your help.
 
  #10  
Old 01-29-07, 12:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,065
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Another option would be to install a timed auto-mist airfreshner at the old box location. It would cosmetically look great and make the air smell beautiful for the wife.

Roger
 
  #11  
Old 01-29-07, 12:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You explained yourself fine.

Either install a blank cover or some other device, or open the wall and move the cable.
 
  #12  
Old 01-29-07, 01:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Someone experienced fishing cable can often achieve the seemingly impossible.

Even if you do end up opening up the wall, drywall is dirt cheap and easy to do. The only pain in drywalling is repainting.

Don't try to pull the stapled cable. Abandon it by disconnecting it and cutting it off short at both ends.
 
  #13  
Old 01-30-07, 05:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,136
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
box

Yes, pulling the wall would be one way but those wires are right behind the vanity. It's a little over my head - think I'll drop a dime but thanx to all for the help.
 
  #14  
Old 02-02-07, 11:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,136
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Smile box

Originally Posted by racraft View Post
You explained yourself fine.

Either install a blank cover or some other device, or open the wall and move the cable.
When I resolve an issue I like to post it so those who helped know about it.
I got into the sheetrock and found the romex that fed the old box. I removed the staples carefully with an awl, drilled through a 2x4 and fed that cable to my new box. It is grounded and working fine. I have done patch work with the sheet rock from tips I learned over the years. Looks good. Pneumonia kept me on the couch thinking about it but your messages got me to energize my 7 decades-thanx a lot!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: