Using 14-3 vs 14-2 NM Cable

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-31-07, 08:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Jay, Maine
Posts: 60
Thumbs down Using 14-3 vs 14-2 NM Cable

Probably a strange question, but....

Would it be within code to use 14-3 NM Cable for a branch circuit (lighting) where 14-2 was actually all that was required, cutting off the extra hot wire (red)? I have a good supply of 14-3 but will have to buy some 14-2 for my wiring projects and money is tight.

Thanks.

JimC
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-31-07, 08:47 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Thumbs up

Use it, thats fine. A good waist of wire, but you have it. Do not exceed a 15Amp breaker. Do not cut off the extra. save it you may need it. cap it and tuck it away.
 
  #3  
Old 01-31-07, 08:50 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
you can use the 14-3 without any probem but i will be wise to save the red wire in case in future you may change the lighting arrament

this will be a nice plus if you plan to install the ceiling fan with light [ that will come very handy later date and this is common pratice i done that ]

Merci , Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'