Wiring Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-05-07, 12:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
Wiring Question

Currently in the garage, it is wired for a 1 light pull cord lightbulb, a duplex outlet, and a out door flood light (2 100W bulbs). the wiring has already been pulled to be replaced b/c a squirrel or something chewed up some of the insulation so everything was pulled for now and capped off in an electrical box. The squirrel and rodent problem has been fixed.

This is how it went originally. Not sure of the wire guage right now, but it is 3 wire, Wiring went thru the duplex piggybacked, then to enclosed electrical box, piggybacked with 1 line to flood light, other to overhead fixture.

suggestions, comments ?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-05-07, 05:18 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Receptacle needs GFCI protection.

I would have made sure I used 12 gage wire for a 20 amp circuit.

I would have added more than one receptacle.

I would have added a switch for the light, and perhaps installed at least one more light.
 
  #3  
Old 02-05-07, 07:28 AM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
If this duplex receptacle is on the ceiling of the garage, it does not need GFCI protection. You didn't state this.

If it is not on the ceiling, go with what racraft said.
 
  #4  
Old 02-05-07, 08:51 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 259
Is this an attached garage?
 
  #5  
Old 02-05-07, 12:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
detached garage

this is in the attic, with floor for storage, and outlet is overhead for garage door opener. the breaker, 15Amp, has GFCI at the breaker
 
  #6  
Old 02-05-07, 12:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
If you are replacing the run from the house to the garage, then definitely go with a 20 amp breaker and 12 gage wire. Better yet, run a multi-wire circuit so that you get double the power than a single 120 volt 20 amp circuit will provide.
 
  #7  
Old 02-05-07, 12:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
not running it all the way to the breaker for now. a lot of the wire is run under the concrete i believe. about 60 ft from the main electrical panel
 
  #8  
Old 02-05-07, 12:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
If you can go all the way back to the panel I would certainly do that. Even if you don't, use 12 gage wire in the garage to allow for future expansion.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes