multi-receptacles on 220 circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-15-07, 08:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
multi-receptacles on 220 circuit

I have a 220v circuit in my workshop for my large table saw. I want to run a second receptacle from the first to run my bandsaw. If the total draw of the two is within the amp rating of the circuit can I run both at the same time?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-15-07, 08:37 PM
rdn2113's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wally World
Posts: 451
You may extend the circuit as you asked. The question is why would you need to operate both machines at the same time?
 
  #3  
Old 02-15-07, 08:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
dual-saw talent

I have started to do production work in my shop and my wife likes to help so she would be using the other saw. So my logic would work if I stay within the amperage?
 
  #4  
Old 02-15-07, 09:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Generally, you need to install the correctly sized circuit for the tool. It is unlikely that if you do so, you will be able to run two tools at the same time. I.e., you are not allowed to install a 30-amp circuit for two 15-amp tools if each tool calls for a 15-amp circuit.

In almost all cases in which you would be running two tools at the same time, you should install two circuits. Installing two circuits in the same shop is only slightly more expensive and slightly more work than installing one. Just do it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'