circuit tracer

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-25-07, 07:54 AM
scott e.'s Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Anderson, IN
Posts: 412
circuit tracer

We just purchased a new building for my business. We have a couple of 240 heaters and outlets that are not working and I need to find what breaker controls them. I have looked at wire tracers, but it seems that most ~$100 units can only trace live circuits. I would like to find one that can trace dead circuits but not spend $500. Any suggestions?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-25-07, 08:15 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Look carefully, most tracers you can use on dead ckts with the aid of a battery for the signal power.

Most good ones are around $150-300.
 
  #3  
Old 02-25-07, 09:36 AM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
or you can simply do what many of us do in such a situation:

start opening junction boxes and wiggle the wires while another watches in the next j-box. Continue this until you get back to the panel that serves those appliances.

depending upon how large of a building or how it is constructed, it can be fairly simple and easy or arduous and time consuming.

This often results in finding the reason for the dead circuit as well.
 
  #4  
Old 02-25-07, 10:18 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
I would not use a tester that is designed for dead circuits in this case.

You may get lucky and find the fault, and at the same time ruin an expensive tool.
 
  #5  
Old 02-25-07, 10:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Since a circuit map of your facility is a handy tool to have anyway. Why not take this opertunity to turn off all the breakers.

Then turn them on one at a time and map what breakers control what recepticles or loads.

The breakers that seem to do nothing will likely be the breakers that you wanted to find in the first place.
 
  #6  
Old 02-25-07, 10:54 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Originally Posted by jwhite View Post
I would not use a tester that is designed for dead circuits in this case.

You may get lucky and find the fault, and at the same time ruin an expensive tool.

This is true. I was thinking on the lines of checking the neutral, But this is 240V. So the main power should be cut before testing this way.

Well guess your left with the old fashioned way. (hard work).
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'