Ground Rod Size

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-26-07, 02:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
Ground Rod Size

Can i use the 1/2 ground rod for my 200 amp service? I'm 99% positive it must be 5/8 but my instructor thinks is it acceptable to use 1/2 for a 200 amp service ...
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-26-07, 02:45 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,337
If you had a solid copper rod, it could be 1/2" diameter if it was listed. Most rods are copper plated steel, so they must be at least 5/8".

250.52(A)(5) Rod and Pipe Electrodes.

(b) Electrodes of rods of iron or steel shall be at least (5/8 in.) in diameter. Stainless steel rods less than (5/8 in.) in diameter, nonferrous rods, or their equivalent shall be listed and shall not be less than (1/2 in.) in diameter.
 
  #3  
Old 02-26-07, 03:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
So I am right , he can not legally use his old ground rod from his 100 amp service for his new 200 amp service then , right? It looks to be about 40 years old ..
 
  #4  
Old 02-26-07, 04:05 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Normally anytime you get service upgrading it is a standard pratice to put in new ground rod[s] most useally 5/8" or larger.

and head up most place will required two [2] rods anyway and from the ground rod[s] to main breaker box for 200 amp service centre you need #4 bare stranded copper wire.

if you are on city water system you can run #4 or #6 stranded wire [ depending on the local code will be addmentned there ] and have jumper wire jumped at the water meter as well [ use the same size wire also ]

Merci , Marc
 
  #5  
Old 02-26-07, 05:27 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,337
I would never re-use an old ground rod. Regardless of the diameter, you have no way of knowing if the rod meets the 8' length requirement, which is required to reach the depth of wet soil.
 
  #6  
Old 02-26-07, 06:37 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Thumbs up

40 years.. it may be solid copper! Rip it out cash it in.. then install a 5/8s rod (or 2) Done.
 
  #7  
Old 02-26-07, 07:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
City water so only need one . How the heck would you rip it out that sucker is 8ft long?!
 
  #8  
Old 02-26-07, 07:11 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
that sucker is 8ft long?!


Maybe!! I've seen them cut, more than twice!!!

Those lazey Bas----s. work for it.
 
  #9  
Old 02-27-07, 09:00 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,337
> How the heck would you rip it out that sucker is 8ft long?!

Spin it out with the Milwaukee Hawg!
 
  #10  
Old 02-28-07, 06:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
Got it! I used my HILTI drill to spin it loose as suggested ! its only 6 feet long but it's solid copper ! :-) Soon time to make a scrap run ....
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'