Adding a subpanel in "fire wall" in garage

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-27-07, 09:02 AM
jdu
jdu is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 22
Adding a subpanel in "fire wall" in garage

All,
I've had discussions with a journeyman electrician about the location of where I want to install a 70A subpanel in my garage. I would like to add the subpanel (recessed) in the wall that divides the interior of the house to the garage. He told me that this wall was called a "fire wall" and it would not be to code to install it into this wall. I was told that I would have to surface mount it to this wall and any wiring that passes thru this wall needs to be in conduit and fire caulked. I live in California and am wondering if this is indeed the case.

Thanks.

Jason
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-27-07, 09:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
This is a fire code, not an electrical code, but I believe the information you received is correct. If you really wanted to recess this panel in this wall, you could probably compensate by adding a second layer of 5/8" Type X drywall to the inside (thus restoring the fire rating that you compromised by cutting hole in the other side of the wall).
 
  #3  
Old 02-27-07, 10:15 AM
jdu
jdu is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 22
I will mount the subpanel on the wall as opposed to a recessed install. I also only want to go through the trouble of installing conduit once and use this conduit for routing wires to the subpanel for all future circuits. Given a 100A subpanel,

1) what would be a safe conduit size and type to install between the subpanel to under the house, and subpanel to over the house through the fire wall to allow plenty of room for future runs

2) what special measures do I need to take given the conduit will pass through a fire wall

also, I am fine with running several conduit runs as opposed to one big one. Also, this conduit I am asking about does not have to include the #4-4-4-8 as that will be thru it's own.

Thanks.
Jason
 
  #4  
Old 02-27-07, 06:16 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
No Idea on CA codes.
I would think there would be no issue (and plenty of room) if you you ran 2-3 1" conduits into an area that can be accessed later.
Put these into a 10"x10" can (box). This way you can run the NMs' to the can and extend with THWNs to the panel. seal up what you must. Lots of room for expansion.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes