Daisy chaining door chimes?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-01-07, 09:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 46
Daisy chaining door chimes?

Hi all, I have a door chime on the main floor, but I can't hear it from my basement, so I went and bought another chime. My question is, can I safely (and within code requirements) daisy chain this second one from the original chime? I'm assuming I would be able to double up the wires of each terminal and send the other end of the wire to the new chime.

And I don't want to go wireless and change out my whole door chime because it is working perfectly on the main floor.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-01-07, 09:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Yes, you can daisy-chain them. You will likely need to switch your 10va transformer to a 20va or 30va transformer.
 
  #3  
Old 03-01-07, 10:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 46
Thanks for the quick reply John.

Not sure what the old transformer is, but the one that came with my new one is a 16V. How can I find out which transformer is sufficient enough for 2 door chimes?
 
  #4  
Old 03-01-07, 10:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Try it using the existing transformer. If it doesn't work then you need a larger one.
 
  #5  
Old 03-01-07, 12:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Look at the rest of the writing on the transformer. In addition to saying 16V, it should have some other information on it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'