Question on Duplex Breakers

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-02-07, 12:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 34
Question on Duplex Breakers

Question on Duplex Breakers; I was considering using a QT Type Duplex Breaker on my Breaker box. I currently only have singles and the actual box does not state the QT type unit. Iíve worked with an Electrical that used these in my fathers house but Iíve lost touch with him.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I attached a Link to the (2) Pole Duplex breaker Iíve refereed to. Thanks Tom

http://www.sea.siemens.com/resident/product/SQT98.pdf
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-02-07, 02:11 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,533
What is the make and model number of the breaker panel you have?
 
  #3  
Old 03-02-07, 02:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 34
I'll have to check the Model Number and repost; Its a Siemens Panel. Stay tuned. Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 03-02-07, 05:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 34
The Panel is a Siemens and there are (4) model numbers inside:
Catalog #: G2020B1100
Catalog #: G2020B1100 # CU
Catalog #: G2020B1125
Catalog #: G2020B1125 # CU

Type 1 5419502


It has (20) Slots; if there is any other information you need let me know.

Thasnks ibpooks
 
  #5  
Old 03-02-07, 06:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
The "2020" tells you that this panel does not accept any tandem (aka twin, aka skinny, aka duplex) breakers. 20 spaces, 20 circuits.
 
  #6  
Old 03-02-07, 10:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 34
Originally Posted by John Nelson View Post
The "2020" tells you that this panel does not accept any tandem (aka twin, aka skinny, aka duplex) breakers. 20 spaces, 20 circuits.
Darn; I'm running out of space! So if I have (6) reccessed lights and about 6 plugs on one and the laundry room on a second; would I be OK? Not major on the circuts just a computer and fish tank.


Thanks for your help!
 
  #7  
Old 03-03-07, 09:50 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
As long as you're careful about what you plug into those receptacles, you should be fine. No space heaters, no hair dryers, no vacuum cleaners, no laser printers, etc.
 
  #8  
Old 03-05-07, 11:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 34
Thanks again John; I returned the Dual Switches and will be installing (3) 20AMP Singles. Now I have to deceide how to work with Panel (another Thread you are helping me with)

Thanks again; I'f you're ever in the Detroit area (Subs about 45 minutes from the city) let me know because I owe you a beer! Tom
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes