Upgraded Sub Panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-02-07, 09:36 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,283
Upgraded Sub Panel

Hello.

I'm in the process of planning a kitchen remodel, and due to requiring additional circuits, upgrading my FPE fused subpanel as well.

Question #1: Do you think keeping the subpanel at 60A is reasonable (with the existing 6-3 w/ground) - or should I run a new feeder 4-3 w/g for a 100A subpanel?

Existing subpanel loads/circuits:
AC Condenser (30A/240v existing circuit)
2 existing general purpose 20A circuits (lighting & receptacles)

New subpanel loads/circuits:
15A Refrigerator
20A kitchen countertop circuit
20A kitchen countertop circuit
15A Gas range / hood
20A Dishwasher + Disposal
20A built-in Microwave
15A kitchen lighting (800w anticipated)

It seems like a lot of load for a 60A panel, but I don't want to rewire the whole thing if it's not necessary.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance,
Mike
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-02-07, 09:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
I am not even going to comment on the other issues until you agree to get rid of anything FPE panel or sub in your entire house.

They are fires waiting to happen.
 
  #3  
Old 03-02-07, 10:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
I assume that by "upgrade" you mean "get rid of". At least I hope so.

When you list the "new" subpanel loads, do you mean in addition to the existing loads, or instead of the existing loads. If the former, then 60 amps is probably insufficient. If the latter, then 60 amps is plenty.
 
  #4  
Old 03-03-07, 07:41 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,283
The sub panel is in addition to. So it sounds like 100A is the way to go.

On the FPE side of things, I was told by the home inspector that while it's an old fuse box, it's not a stab-loc panel, and therefore NOT a hazard.

We don't have to go into the discussion about the home inspector not being an electrician - I realize that, and I always take what they have to say with a grain of salt. But I did additional research when I saw it was an FPE panel, and I could only find issues with the stab lock circuit breaker panels. Are there issues with all FPE panels?

Regardless, yes, I'm ditching the old panel and replacing it with a Sq D QO panel. But the main panel is a similar FPE with a split bus (interesting - I've never seen one like that before). I was planning on doing the sub panel on my own, and then calling in some reinforcements (electrican) for the main panel upgrade.

Thanks to everyone here - if it wasn't for this forum (and a few good books), I wouldn't even have considered this project. But after reading umpteen threads about subpanels, I'm ready to take on this project.

Thanks again,
Mike
 
  #5  
Old 03-07-07, 07:55 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,283
Wire required?

I thought I had this all in check, but then I went to go buy the materials and got myself all confused.

For feeding a 100A subpanel, do I want 2-0 or 4-0 aluminum wire? I believe they are both SER wire (gray sheathing, 3 conductors with a twisted ground). The sign on the 2-0 wire said "For 100A Main Panel", but the sales rep stated that I could use 4-0 for a 100A subpanel. Not trusting their advice, I figured I'd consult the experts here.

The distance is 90', and it's all indoor.

Thanks in advance for your assistance!

-Mike
 
  #6  
Old 03-07-07, 09:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
You do realize that 4/0 is a heavier wire then 2/0, right?

In any case, neither answer is right. 1/0 is enough if you go aluminum, or #2 if you go copper.
 
  #7  
Old 03-08-07, 08:44 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,283
John,

Thanks for the quick response. It makes more sense now - especially after referring to some ampacity charts.

Thanks again for the help,
Mike
 
  #8  
Old 03-08-07, 05:17 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Charts are great.. I wish I had found them years ago. All the schooling I could have skipped. AHHH Looking back..
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes