Lost electric

Old 03-07-07, 11:10 AM
Lost electric

I lost electricty in 2 rooms of my house. I am not an electrician but I had one look at the problem. He could not figure it out. I do not know if I lost a circuit or part of a circuit or where the disconnect is. Can anyone suggest what may have caused this and how I would go about fixing it?

Sponsored Links
Old 03-07-07, 11:25 AM
Dead Circuit

Look for tripped GFCI receptacles and reset.
Check service panel for blown fuses or tripped breakers.
Reset all breakers one at a time.

If none of this works, you have a loose connection.

Has any kind of work been done which may have caused this?

Old 03-07-07, 12:16 PM
A better electrician?

Old 03-07-07, 12:46 PM
Wow. We're starting out from a really deep hole here. Start by finding the disconnect. It's crazy scary to live in a place where you don't know where the main disconnects are (electrical, gas, water). This information could be a life-or-death matter.

And it just boggles my mind that you had an electrician there who could not figure this out. That's no electrician I've ever heard of.

Old 03-07-07, 01:16 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
> I lost electricty in 2 rooms of my house.

There are a few causes of this problem. The simplest is a tripped breaker or blown fuse. If you have breakers, switch each one off then back on and see if power comes back. If you have fuses, test each circuit with a known good fuse.

Next look for a tripped GFCI receptacle with TEST and RESET buttons somewhere in the house and press its RESET button. Common locations are in the basement, garage, bathroom or outdoors; however it could be anywhere -- be sure to look behind stuff stacked against garage and basement walls.