changing range receptacle location

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-11-07, 09:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 69
changing range receptacle location

I am going to be renovating our kitchen at the end of this month. I am going to be placing a cabinet where the range is currently. So, I need to relocate the receptacle about two feet to the right. Is this something that can easily be done, or do I need to hire out for this? I am fairly handy, as I am doing the remodel myself. On the same note, I have never played with range receptacle's before aside from plug and unplug. So, if someone knows the procedure that would be very helpful. Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-11-07, 09:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
to relocate the range repectale it really depending on if it have 3 or 4 wire cord attached to the range because the code do change some time back so just tell us what type of wire [ it will useally be 3 or 4 wire type ]

if 4 wire it not too bad it can relocated easly but if older 3 wires it can get tricky here if the wire run is very short you will just end up get new 4 wires for the range but the code do not allow us to extend the exsting 3 wire range circuit

Merci , Marc
 
  #3  
Old 03-11-07, 09:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 69
I think 3 wire

I think it is 3 wire, the plug is a 3 prong or do I need to remove the receptacle?
 
  #4  
Old 03-11-07, 09:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
if you are well famiur with the electrical system it should be not too hard but where is the breaker / fuse box located and how far it is away from the range repectale.

i am not sure if they will allow to shorten up the 3 wire range repecale circuit but i am sure they [ code ] wont allow it but i will leave this question to either John Nelson or Racraft one of the two they will be very well verisoned with the code related to the range repectales code wise i rather play it safe instead of screw something up

merci , Marc
 
  #5  
Old 03-11-07, 09:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 69
breaker location

The breaker is in the garage. I have a half basement with half garage. Bedrooms and basement over garage/basement, and livingroom and kitchen over concrete slab. Split level with two attics. The range is against a divider wall, so I think the only way to run new wire would be throught the attic.
 
  #6  
Old 03-12-07, 07:22 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
This probably falls into a gray area. You are only moving it two feet. If the existing wiring will reach the new location merely by rerouting the cable a bit, some inspectors may allow it. Others may not, and require you to replace the cable from the panel with a new 4-wire cable.

Even if the inspector does not require it, it is still a good idea to replace the cable anyway. Take advantage of this remodelling opportunity to improve safety.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'