Microwave turning off and on

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-12-07, 12:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
Question Microwave turning off and on

Why would a microwave start, flicker it's lights, shut off after 30 seconds, then after a few seconds, turn itself back on, clock at 12:00, lights work.

The microwave (average size) works great on other recepticles,

I can trace the circuit back to the panel and there is nothing else on it.

For what can I test or check?

Thanks,
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-12-07, 12:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
A loose connection.
 
  #3  
Old 03-12-07, 12:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
a loose connection in the recepticle?
 
  #4  
Old 03-12-07, 12:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Or at the circuit breaker panel or at any junction box along the way.
 
  #5  
Old 03-12-07, 01:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
I opened up the recepticle box and found that the black and white wires appear to be secure.

However, the ground wire had been cut at the opening of the sheathing and never attached to the recepticle. Could this cause the problem?
 
  #6  
Old 03-12-07, 01:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
I do not think that the ground wire is the cause of the problem. However, the ground wire is a problem. You need to correct this.

Have you checked the connections at the circuit breaker panel?
 
  #7  
Old 03-12-07, 02:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
I haven't checked those connections yet
 
  #8  
Old 03-12-07, 02:05 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Does it work okay elsewhere in your house? Take it up to the bedroom and try it there. Take it down to the basement and try it there. Try it in the family room, the dining room, the back porch, the garage.
 
  #9  
Old 03-12-07, 02:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
John, It works on other outlets, just not the one where I'd like it to.
 
  #10  
Old 03-12-07, 03:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
I just wondering if this repectale is the only one to this circuit ??

if not maybe there is other repecale along the way maybe other repecale got loosen up or bad connection

I am sure this is rather pretty common in the kitchen circuit where you have microwave oven , toaster , coffee machine etc etc on that circuit and some how one of the repecale got loosen up

some case but true the GFCI can go bad as well too so check that out as well


Merci , Marc
 
  #11  
Old 03-12-07, 04:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
It's the only one on this 15A circuit.

When I removed the metal panel from the curcuit box, I found that the the white and black wires were secure.

Strangely, the ground wire was hacked off again where it became exposed.

Also, the circuit breaker was wobbly, I could move it with my finger and could see the mounting screw was a little unscrewed.

Is it safe to screw it in? Do I have to shut the whole panel down to do this?

Thanks
 
  #12  
Old 03-12-07, 06:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Turn off the breaker involved BEFORE you attempt to screw the wire down. Better yet, turn off the main circuit breaker.

However, you need to get the ground wire connected at both ends. If there is not enough to work with, replace the cable.
 
  #13  
Old 03-12-07, 08:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
Is this a dedicated circuit? There may be connections in other boxes, or J boxes, or in the panel itself that have become loose, not uncommon. Connections that Look secure can be really deceptive. Most def turn off the main breaker please. Ressetting a few clocks is much better than a potentialy lethal dose of Mr. Electricity. As far as the ground, verify it is connected at the panel then you will need to get some slack on the other end to ground your receptacle, and if the box is metal that must also be grounded.
 
  #14  
Old 03-27-07, 04:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
Smile

After listening to the circuit breaker while the microwave was running I heard a sizzling sound. I called an electrician to replace the circuit breaker and properly ground the line.

Thanks to all who responded.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'