multiple 3-way dimmers on one circuit?

Old 03-13-07, 05:34 PM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
multiple 3-way dimmers on one circuit?

Finishing my basement. Was going to have 14 cans on 3 different dimmers all on one circuit. I am assuming this is possible to have. Is it? How are they connected? Instead of the 14/2 common(black) connecting to the first switch have all three pigtailed to the incoming common? Hope I am making sense since I am not an electrician. Will all three dimmers and wiring fit in a 3 gange box or will I need an extra deep box if they have one?

Thanks for any help.

Chris

Old 03-13-07, 05:48 PM
R
You connect multiple dimmers the same way you connect multiple switches. Incoming power is connected to one terminal of each dimmer.

You will want the largest box possible, and you will need to derate the dimmers to take into account multiple in one box. make sure you do not exceed the derated power on each one.

Old 03-14-07, 06:55 AM
J
Received 441 Votes on 367 Posts
Are you have three separate switches control three separate sections of these lights(not a three way switch setup) or are you having all the lights controlled from three separate locations (three way and four way switches required).

3way dimmers are normally only one per circuit. If you want dimmers at both locations then you need to buy special ones that talk to each other. I don't know if you can get a four way that fits in this. If you have three switches then one of them must be a four way.

Last edited by joed; 03-14-07 at 04:17 PM.
Old 03-14-07, 09:15 AM
J
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I think Joe has a typo. You can certainly use more than one 3-way dimmer switch on the same circuit, but you usually don't use more than one 3-way dimmer switch controlling the same bank of lights.