480 tx

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-13-07, 08:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
480 tx

just curious

i saw a transformer
480v primary to 120/240v secondary

if i feed the primary from a panel say 500 ft away and want to install a 120v
receptacle where would i get a neutral?

make sense or just a dumb question?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-13-07, 08:46 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
from the derived neutral (grounded conductor) from the 120/240 (low side). This should be going to a panel that has a neut in it.


the center tap of the low side is grounded and that is where you get the grounded conductor ( neutral but often a misnomer)
 
  #3  
Old 03-13-07, 08:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
480 tx

Is the transformer single phase or three phase
 
  #4  
Old 03-13-07, 09:01 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
don;t make any diff.
the neitral for the a 120 must come from the low side

if it is 120/240 it is either a single phase center tapped or a 3 phase delta with one phase center tapped (same as the single phase but would have the third leg available0
 
  #5  
Old 03-13-07, 10:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
the other thing that i kinda lerry to say this about 480/120 transformer set up that this can get out of the scope of the average DIY there are few codes related to this.


i just hope i dont scare ya but 480 volt is something you dont want to mess around with this

I work on 480 volt system just about everyday so i know how much it can kick out


Merci , Marc
 
  #6  
Old 03-13-07, 10:43 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
definately out of the realm of DIY.

actually the original post begs the question of what the guy is doing. The secondary has to go to a panel to be usable. to get 120 v it would have to have the neutral there. If no neut, all ya got is 240.


hey frenchie, what happened to you and the guy with the shaper and reversing motor? Last I looked he had it running (he claims both directions) but his hook up doesn;t match what he gave for motor plate connections and his hook up only switches L2 and L1. don;t know how he gets reverse out of that.
 
  #7  
Old 03-13-07, 10:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Nap :

it beat my odd i just cant figured out how the holy heck he got it but the way he described it kinda spook me a bit but he did got it running but excat connection sound like modifed " X " pattern in foward postion on 6 lug set up and ran a pair of jumpers but he did not tell us the detail very clear at all.



back to the transformer set up yes that true i forget to add additonal number it should say 480/120-240 volts


sorry for that typo error

merci , Marc
 
  #8  
Old 03-13-07, 11:06 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
oh I wasn;t meaning to correct you on the x-former voltage.It was in response to the OP and his situation. I was sort of expanding on what I had posted prior.

ya, fibjr was not very clear anytime he posted. made it very difficult to help him.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'