Home electrical problem

Old 03-15-07, 03:13 AM
Home electrical problem

I started to lose power on several circuts in my home. After checking the breaker panel there were no tripped breakers. I checked and tighted every breaker, ground, and neutral connection. Since the home is 20 yrs. old I also replaced 5 breakers with no improvement. I have found that when power goes out for no aparent reason I lose power on everyother breaker on the 220 side and everyother 2 breakers on the 110 side. Figuring that there must be a problem with one of the two power leads I put a digital meter in the conuity function. Placed pos. lead on one of the lines before the main on/off in my panel, and the neg. on the ground bar in the panel. One line gave me a constant beep, the other gave a rapidly broken beep. Not being a electrician I am assuming that the problem is somewhere in the main line that I got the rapid beeping before the main switch in my panel box. My set up goes power lines to meter, to a main on/off after meter, approx 40 ft. to main on/off in panel box, to the breakers. Any suggestions and or answers to my problem will be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-15-07, 03:52 AM
You are wasting time and money replacing things when you are not sure of the problem. And attempting to measure resistence on a live circuit will kill your meter.

If all the dropped circuits/problems seem to be on one side of the breaker panel, call the power company, quickly. If it seems random, call an electrician, also quickly.

I hate to be blunt, but you have a problem that could be dnagerous, and it seems you have no idea where to look. Let someone that knows do the looking.

Old 03-15-07, 04:02 AM
You do not have a positive and negative lead on your meter. You may have a red one and a black one, but that does not mean positive and negative.