electrical running in wall behind shower - fairly urgent!

Old 03-15-07, 12:17 PM
L
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question electrical running in wall behind shower - fairly urgent!

Hello. Hope you will forgive a cross-post from bathroom remodeling. My husband and I complete novices, but we've begun to replace a 34x48 fiberglass shower surround in our master bath. Upon ripping out the old shower, which is, of course, nailed to studs, we realized the 220 line to our kitchen stove runs in the wall right behind it. We are replacing the shower with a 3-piece fiberglass surround, but I'm a bit worried about having that wiring right behind it. The house hasn't killed anyone for 30 years, but should I be worried about the wiring that close to the shower? Should it be in some kind of conduit? We want to start installation so I really need an answer! Thanks!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
***Moderator's note: Duplicate thread in the Bathroom Remodeling topic has been deleted***

Last edited by DIYaddict; 03-15-07 at 01:14 PM. Reason: see note in post
Old 03-15-07, 12:30 PM
R
The wire does not need to be in conduit. It should be attached to the studs, and you should have some sort of drywall "blueboard" against the wall.

Old 03-15-07, 12:39 PM
L
Question

Thank you for your answer. The wire runs thru a hole in the studs like it should. The fiberglass shower surround just nails to the studs. There's never been any type of waterproof board behind it before and the one we bought to replace it is the same, nail-to-the-stud type. Do you mean we should install waterproofing board behind the fiberglass surround?

Old 03-15-07, 12:42 PM
R
It sounds like the wire is run properly.

I guess I don't know about the surround. I thought they were meant to be attached to blueboard, but perhaps not.

Old 03-15-07, 12:43 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
No. Your installation is very typical.

Old 03-15-07, 12:52 PM
L
Talking