Wiring boxes

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-17-07, 10:28 AM
michaelshortt's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 789
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring boxes

I am sure this has been covered before but my search has me guessing. I am using the boxes with the built in clamps. Do I include them when calculating the number of wires coming in the box?
 
  #2  
Old 03-17-07, 10:57 AM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,162
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
NEC 2005
314.16(B)(2)

Clamp fill. Where one or more internal cable clamps, whether factory or field supplied, are present in the box, a single volume allowance in accordance with Table 314.16(B) shall be made based on the largest conductor present in the box. No allowance shall be required for a cable connector with its clamping mechanism outside the box.
 
  #3  
Old 03-17-07, 11:24 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,621
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
On a side note, for those who may be curious: A romex connector that is attached to the box with a locknut is considered to be outside the box.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: