Wiring New Countertop Stove

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-20-07, 07:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring New Countertop Stove

I'm replacing an old Jenn-Air countertop electric stove with a new one. Unfortunately I did not remove the old one (so I couldn't compare wiring installation) and the new one has:

Black----Red------White------Green wires

However my pre 1996 house wiring has just 3 wires

Black----Red------Green


The stove for some reason had no electrical connection paperwork.

Where do I attach the white wire?

Thanx in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-20-07, 08:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
All stoves come with two sets of wiring instructions, one for a 3-wire connection and one for a 4-wire connection. Find these two sets of instructions in your manual, and exactly follow the one for the 3-wire connection. You may need to buy another (3-wire) cord for your stove.
 
  #3  
Old 03-27-07, 12:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question

Did a little more investigating. Although the conduit running from the box had just three wires, when I removed the box cover I found a white wire which was just capped off.

Did older countertop units just use 3 wires so whoever originally hooked it up just capped the white?

I assume that I should just get a 4 wire appliance conduit to replace the 3 wire and then just hook up black to black, white to white, red to red, and green to bare wire?

I have no instruction manual to refer to.

Thanks again.
 
  #4  
Old 03-27-07, 01:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You need to obtain a wiring diagram. Contact the manufacturer, look on the Internet, contact the store you bought it from, etc. They do excist, and it is not hard to get one.

You need to make sure that the capped white wire is connected on the other end. That will mean investigating the wiring at the panel.

Years ago stoves were wired with only three wires. This was done for several reasons which are not important now. All new installations of 120/240 volt appliances need to be four wire. You are allowed to use existing wiring, as long as you do not have to extend that wiring.

However, you do not have an issue. You have four wires and your appliance needs four wires.
 
  #5  
Old 03-27-07, 01:05 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You should not connect this without proper instructions. Somewhere on this unit is a jumper which must be put into the correct position or the installation will not be safe. If you have the model number, google can usually find the installation instructions.

Yes, if you have four wires, you must buy a 4-wire cord to connect it. The previous installation may have ignored this rule.
 
  #6  
Old 03-28-07, 02:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hooked up everything today. It's all working fine.

Thanks John & Racraft for your help.
 
  #7  
Old 03-29-07, 07:24 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
correctly? What was the final outcome? 4 or 3 wire?

Others would like to know and may benefit from your findings.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: