Thermostat wire for heat pump

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-23-07, 02:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 340
Thermostat wire for heat pump

Can standard thermostat wire and wire nuts be used for heat pump control cabling, or is something special required?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-23-07, 06:03 PM
kcxj's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 928
Heat pumps require a few more wires. A standard condenser needs only four, but a heat pump needs atleast 7.
 
  #3  
Old 03-23-07, 08:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 340
I've got 7-conductor from the thermostat to the air handler, and 5 to the condensor. I already have it all hooked up. I was wondering about if the cable had to be watertight or use special wirenuts or anything, or if normal thermostat wire and electrical wirenuts were OK?
 
  #4  
Old 03-23-07, 10:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Outside, use silicone filled ones. The cable is fine outside.
 
  #5  
Old 03-24-07, 05:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Your normal thermostat wire and wirenuts are fine. Use at least 18 guage wire.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes