Is 220V 230V 240V the same?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-23-07, 07:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 121
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is 220V 230V 240V the same?

I have a welder that the voltage is 230, sngle phase, 60 HZ. or 208, single phase, 60 HZ.

The power at the breaker box is 240, single phase, 60 HZ.

Can I use this welder? Will difference in voltage be a problem?

Thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-23-07, 07:36 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Yes. In different parts of the country, line voltages can vary as much as 10%, so 220 or 240 are within limit ranges of each other.
 
  #3  
Old 03-23-07, 07:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 121
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for being so prompt. I guess I was hoping to hear what you said.

I guess I forgot all the question. There is a jumper inside the welder that can be set on 230V or 208V. Being that I have 240V, what about the jumpers?

Which one do I put it on or does it matter?

Thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 03-23-07, 07:48 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes, you can use 240.

240 and 208 are nominal voltages for supply power. The voltages on a piece of equipment are the design voltage for the eqipment. There are tolerances allowed.

One reason certain voltages are listed is the fact that when you take that voltage and consider the allowed tolerances, the acceptable voltage can be any of several different systems. Hence your machine being able to utilize 208 or 240 volt systems.

as well, through the years, the nominal voltage has risen. Years ago, a typical resi supply would be 110/220. Then it went to 115/230 an now currently is 120/240.

So either your welder is old enough to been around when 230 volts was the nominal voltage or they did it to allow it to be used on different types of service supplies. In either case, you're safe.

put the jumper on the 240 volt setting.
 
  #5  
Old 03-23-07, 07:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 121
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I hate to be a pest. The jumpers are only 208V and 230V, not 240. Thats why I asked which one or does it matter?

Thank you
 
  #6  
Old 03-23-07, 08:06 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sorry 'bout that.

put it on the 230 volt setting.
 
  #7  
Old 03-23-07, 08:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 121
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you Sir:

At least I dont have to return it!

Have a nice weekend!

Thank you very much!
 
  #8  
Old 03-24-07, 12:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The 208V setting is for places with 3-phase. If you're operating this in a residential setting, you won't be using 208V.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: