Conduit or not?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-24-07, 09:09 AM
MrBillll's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 17
Conduit or not?

In the very near future, I am having concrete poured for a garage floor in my back yard. Before it is done, I want to run everything that I need to for later garage ammenities (i.e. electric, gas, telephone perhaps water.) When I run the electric I want to run 60amps to a sub panel in the garage. Here's the question. When I run the electric, does it have to be run in conduit, or can I use buried cable? If not in conduit, can the buried cable be run in PVC? I know that telephone cannot be run in the same conduit as electric, etc. Does the electric have to be run in a seperate trench from the conduit / buried cable, or can it share the same trench with the other stuff?

I know code here (Chicago) is strict, so I want to make sure that I plan this correctly.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-24-07, 09:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Some cables are rated to be run in direct contact with concrete. IMHO an extreemly stupid idea.

I refuse to comment on the code in Chicago. But anywhere else, I would put a 1 1/4 conduit from the possible future panel location to out beyond the footer. Yes this is larger than needed for 60 amps, but will make you life easier in the long run, and provide for expansion if needed.
 
  #3  
Old 03-24-07, 12:15 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
in addition to jwhite's most excellent advice, I would toss in a 3/4 or so pvc conduit for a phone line and stub in the appropriate pipes for the other utilities you may use. You can always abandon and cap them if you decide not to use them.

By having these in place prior to pouring the concrete, you will save yourself a lot of work and it makes a nicer looking job to have come under the slab rather than having to feed above grade outside.

You should keep 1 foot minimum between power and phone/data runs. They can be in the same trench but at different elevations if desired.
 
  #4  
Old 03-24-07, 04:07 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Most definatly run conduit, the bigger the better. As far as distance betwen the two...

Your not running some HI-TECH bussiness out of the place..are you?
So I feel, Yes in the same trench. Leave some area between them all. 18" min. Otherwise you need 2 acres for a trench. Normal stuff, you'll be fine.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'