Connect 12v stereo to 110v Power?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-25-07, 05:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Connect 12v stereo to 110v Power?

Is it possible to connect a 12v device (in this case a marine stereo) to 110v power? I want to install the stereo in a BBQ island I am building, which has 110v power.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-25-07, 05:48 PM
1up
1up is offline
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
first post!!!

you need a transformer. just do a google search for exactly what you want (ie. transformer 120v to 12v) and look for something that has a input power of 120V AC and a output power of 12V AC.
 
  #3  
Old 03-25-07, 05:52 PM
AxlMyk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 889
You want a 12 volt DC power supply, not a transformer.. I would think one with 5 amps would be enough.. Radio Shack has some..
http://www.radioshack.com/family/index.jsp?categoryId=2032145&cp=2032056
 
  #4  
Old 03-25-07, 05:54 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
What you want is called a power supply. Radio Shack is the most popular unit for what you want to do.
You can get one there or Ebay has them for next to nothing.
 
  #5  
Old 03-25-07, 08:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Power Supply

Originally Posted by AxlMyk View Post
You want a 12 volt DC power supply, not a transformer.. I would think one with 5 amps would be enough.. Radio Shack has some..
http://www.radioshack.com/family/index.jsp?categoryId=2032145&cp=2032056
Thanks for the info. Is there any advantage to go above 5 amps? (you can tell I know next to nothing about electrical). I do not want to get the radio installed, then have problems with the power supply because it's too small, an dthen have to deconstruct the island.
 
  #6  
Old 03-25-07, 08:22 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
if you look at your unit, it may have a power rating on it. as long as it is below 5 amps, you would not benefit by being able to provide additional amperage.

size the power supply to its intended use.
 
  #7  
Old 03-26-07, 02:59 PM
AxlMyk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 889
If you intend on turning the volume up, then higher supply current will be a benefit.. If the power supply is too small, you will get voltage drop with higher current draw..
 
  #8  
Old 03-26-07, 04:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,669
Since this is a car stereo it is actually designed to operate at 13.5 voltsDC not 12 volts.
 
  #9  
Old 03-26-07, 06:26 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
[QUOTE=joed;1149019]Since this is a car stereo it is actually designed to operate at 13.5 voltsDC not 12 volts.[/QUOT

OP did ask about a 12v device. We weren't arguing or belaboring the point.
Actually an automotive battery is 12.6 volts (2.1 volts per cell) and the alternator output varies up to about 15 and as low as 13.6 or so. From what I could find on the 'net, it would seem most stereo type units are designed to operate within a range of voltage, generally starting at 11 volts and then up to as high as 16 volts.

So, greggoo, to be accurate and cause maximim efficiancy and longevity, you should check the unit you have and check for the voltage and amperage rating and purchase a power supply that fits those needs. It is better to go higher on the amperage but the voltage should be right where the unit calls for.
 
  #10  
Old 03-26-07, 06:33 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Most 12v DC power supplies put out 13.8 volts. Car stereos are designed to run off this as well.

Yes, bringing this up is not even worth the effort.
 
  #11  
Old 03-26-07, 08:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 162
when i was a teen i used my ho cars 12v power pack it worked great on my 8 track player.
 
  #12  
Old 03-26-07, 09:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Jay, Maine
Posts: 60
12VDC Power Supply for Stereo

I am doing the same thing in my garage/workshop with a car stereo receiver. Got a 12VDC power supply from Radio Shack and connected it to the stereo. I think mine was a 3 Amp unit - just checked RS web site and I don't see the same one I bought several years ago but they have a 3 Amp model - Mdl 22-507 for $42.99. Or you could go on ebay and so a search for 12V Power Supply and probably find one for about $5!

My setup works great - better than any other radio I have tried to use there!

JimC
 
  #13  
Old 03-27-07, 07:46 AM
dougm's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Colony, Texas
Posts: 917
One other suggestion: Don't install this so that the power supply can't be easily accessed and changed out if need be. You shouldn't have to "deconstruct the island" to get to the power supply or the radio.

Doug M.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes