Sockets on a dedicated circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-25-07, 04:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 14
Sockets on a dedicated circuit

I am moving to a house in a couple of weeks. We want to put in a microwave/vent combo over the stove. Now i read that it has to be a socket on its own circuit. How can i test to see if a socket is? They is a socket right by the stove that i think must be for the microwave. thanks for the help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-25-07, 05:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
You won't be that lucky. If there was not previously a microwave over the stove, there is almost zero chance that you can use an existing circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 03-25-07, 05:21 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
The easy way with no tools. Plug in a radio/light to that receptacle (turn it on). Then shut off 1 breaker/ckt at a time. When you find the one in question, leave it off and move the radio/light to each rec. to see what else does not work.

While your at it.. do this with every ckt in the panel. Just incase you need to shut one off in a hurry. You will know what they serve.
 
  #4  
Old 03-25-07, 07:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
One thing that I always recommend is to completely map out ALL the circuits in the house. The information could save your life some day, and will be invaluable under some circumstances.

Even if the circuit next to the stove is on it's own circuit, you will need to change it. Either you will have to put a blank cover on it and run a wire to the microwave hood, or you will want to simply move it completely to the new location, usually a receptacle mounted in the cabinet above the microwave.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'