Range breaker wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-26-07, 06:52 AM
caleyg's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 327
Range breaker wiring

Thanks for all the good help here. Since I learned here I needed to replace rather than extend my existing 3 wire aluminum, I replaced with 4 wire 6 ga. when I took off the Siemans panel cover (new 200 amp upgrade a few years ago in a 80 y.o. house--previous owner had this professionally done). I was surprised to find two grounding bars instead of one (like my old square D). It appeared one insulated cable ran to one with all the neutrals attached and an un-insualated to another with all the grounds.

I ran my new 4 wire in this fashion--white to the neutral side and bare to the other. To do this I had to go over the top of the bars holding breakers, behind the incoming service. There was plenty of room, but everything else had been run under (I just didn't have the cable length). Is this just asthetics or is there a problem with this?

Bonus question. Everything in this panel looks very well done, BUT I know I have knob and tube in the bedroom/living room circuits and lighting and every breaker in the box is 20A or higher. Is this a dangerous situation? It was inspected when done.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-26-07, 07:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 274
There's no problem with running the conductors behind the service cables as long as there's no exposed metal on the cables where they might touch each other....that would be very bad.
It sounds like you properly attached the neutral and ground.

Most of the Knob and Tube wiring that I've seen is #14.
This would require a 15 amp breaker.
On most of the older homes that I work on with any K&T wiring, I replace all of the single pole breakers with 15A.
Just a safety measure.
steve
 
  #3  
Old 03-26-07, 07:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Look at the conductors of the knob and tube circuits. Are they 12 gage or 14 gage? If 14 gage, make sure the breakers are 15 amp.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes