adding to a line

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-26-07, 09:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
adding to a line

I have a older home that has a main circuit breaker on the outside (two wires coming in off the pole). The entire service is new since it was destroyed after Hurricane Rita.

On the second floor there are two fuse boxes. One supports two 220 volt outlets in two separate rooms. I suppose they were installed for window AC before the house had central air. They are serviceable but unused. The second fuse box has eight screw type fuses that support all rooms upstairs. Both boxes are in good shape.

My latest project involves a patio off the back of the house. When complete I want to install a ceiling fan, separate light fixture, a wall switch and an outlet. The area will be used as a sitting area with the ceiling fan constantly and the light on periodally. I want to mount the wall switch in the house.

My question...how can I bring power to this space? Should I attempt to pull from the 8 fuse box (120) or is there a safe way to pull from the 220? I would have to step it down right?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-26-07, 09:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You do not have two wires coming in from the pole. You have three wires.

Bring power from the most convenient location. You have not described your main panel, so perhaps you have space there for another circuit or two. Or you can use either fuse box, if they can be expanded. There are too many variables and un-supplied information for any of us to tell you what is best.

However, and this is key, at this point in time you do not have the knowledge to do this yourself. Perhaps you can learn enough to attempt this job. Perhaps the learning curve will make you want to hire someone to do the work.

Electricity can and does kill people. Anyone doing electrical work needs to full understand how electrical circuits work before attempting to work on one.
 
  #3  
Old 03-26-07, 09:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
First, figure out which of your three boxes has unused space in it. Then, as Bob says, figure out which one has the most convenient access. Note that the panel you describe as supplying 220 can probably also provide 110.

One of your sources of information will be this forum. However, it is unlikely that this will be enough to be your only source of information. I suggest you look at your home center for books that describe projects similar to the one you are about to undertake.

We'll be happy to help with any questions that come up along the way.
 
  #4  
Old 03-26-07, 12:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
if the 240V boxes have neutrals, you can feed oof of them, but I'd replace them, if not the big box also, with a breaker panel.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'