What device can replace the light bulb?

Old 03-26-07, 05:46 PM
What device can replace the light bulb?

I'm a newbie to the forum and hopefully someone on this forum might be able to help me find a solution to a problem I'm having with my 1998 Lance slide in camper.

I'll try to be succinct:

I purchased a used 1998 camper which had a failed 6300 Magnatec charger/converter as well as a working Generac NP3400 series L/P propane Generator.

I replaced the old charger/converter with a new solid state-3-stage charger/converter, however the electronics on the generator will not run properly.

Apparently the problem is because the Generac's computer controller likes to see a very clear and clean signal at its output (it is a closed loop feedback system). When the generator is under no load (battery fully charged, and nothing using 12 V.) This confuses the Generator controller circuit, causing the gen to go to high rpm and then shut off.

At Magnatec's suggestion, loading the 110 circuit with a 60 watt light bulb solved problem and the generator works great with the light on. However, I would like to find a better option than the light bulb when I have my generator running.

On a recreational vehicle forum, one of the members recommended installing some kind of resistor, but the reply was the following:

"I believe it is INDUCTANCE that the Generac wants to see at the output. I don't think a resistor would provide that. I think the light bulb (being a coil as well as a resistor) provides both. I was hoping to find a coil I could install instead of the transformer, but I wouldn't know what size (in Henrys) to get or where to purchase it. Good thought though."

I was thinking about going to Radio Shack or an auto supply store...... but I don't know what to ask for to replace the light bulb solution. My preference would be to install a device to put a proper load on my 110 volt circuit . I would certainly appreciate any recommendations. Thank you.