switch plate hot to the touch??

Old 03-27-07, 06:04 PM
Unhappy switch plate hot to the touch??

I'm no expert but this does not seem normal...

I have a switch plate in the basement that has 3 switches on it for overhead lights. These are the "button" type switches that you push the top part to turn the lights on, push the bottom part to turn them off. 2 of the switches have a dimmer (a tiny slider on the side). They have the brand name "Lutron" and the switch actually has a little light in it so you can find it in the dark...

Anyway, I noticed that the screws holding the plastic switch plate in place were hot to the touch... not warm... HOT. When I removed the cover I noticed the metal frames of the 2 switches with dimmers were also very, very hot to the touch.

Seems like a fire hazzard to me.

Can anyone guess as to what the deal is? Is this just because it has a dimmer???

Sponsored Links
Old 03-27-07, 06:07 PM
Dimmers get hot when used. Make sure that you have not exceeded the rating of the dimmer (include the de-rating due to two in the same junction box).

Old 03-28-07, 05:19 AM
Talking solved

Ah. That's sort of what I was thinking.

Looks like my dimmers are rated for 600 Watts... but a "2-gang" is only rated for 500 Watts... and the lights on the switch that is really hot adds up to 720 watts.

Nice. Basement was finished by the previous owner. :-)

Looks like 2 1000 watt dimmer switches will solve my problem.

Thanks for the help.

Old 03-29-07, 11:04 AM
Question one more thing...

I purchased 2 dimmers that have a 1000 watt rating. A little off the topic... those things are expensive at $30 a pop (compared to the normal dimmers, I mean).

Anyway... I believe I have a "single pole" connection. In the junction box I only see 3 wires for a given set of lights.

1. White
2. Black
3. Copper (ground)

On the dimmer switch I have 3 wires:

1. Red
2. Black
3. Green (ground)

OK... copper goes to green. Got it.