Taping into basement ceiling box

Old 04-04-07, 12:18 PM
W
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Taping into basement ceiling box

First off i'm a newbe, so i'm asking a question. In the basement there are ceiling
boxes with lights the boxes have a wire going in, and a wire going out to the next light box. I have and attached garage that i want to put an outlet in the wall, can i wire nut a 14-3 wire in the box to feed the outlet in the garage, and would it be live all the time. I already made the holes just didn't put in a outlet yet, want to know before i go any further. Help
thanks

Old 04-04-07, 12:25 PM
R
14-3 would be the wrong cable. 14-2 would be correct, assuming a 15 amp circuit. If a 20 amp circuit, 12-2 would the appropriate cable.

What else is on this circuit?

Are these lights switch controlled or are they pull chain controlled?

What do you intend to use this receptacle for in the garage?

Old 04-04-07, 12:37 PM
I see several concerns (but I'm not a pro):

1. lighting circuits - there's a good chance the circuit is switched. Unless each fixture has a pull-chain or similar switching device built-in.

2. not always a good idea to add outlets to lighting circuits.

3. I believe garage circuits should be 20A, but this may vary by local code.

I think a better route would be to find an existing outlet circuit, or make a new run back to the service panel. It depends on what you plan to plug in to the outlet, really.

Good luck!

Old 04-04-07, 12:42 PM
W
The basement lights are all pull chain, thats all thats on the 15 amp circuit, i plan to use this outlet to feed the deck outlet that i already have. I spliced into
the attic wires years ago, but it wasen't right, some house switches had to be turned on before the deck outlet had power. Want to do this right, this time.
thanks

Old 04-04-07, 12:46 PM
R
I would be surprised if the basement lights are the only thing on this circuit. You should make certain that this is the case before you go any further.