switch for 220 pump

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-05-07, 02:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
switch for 220 pump

hi, i,ve run a number 10, 2 w/ ground of a double 40amp to supply 220 power to a 1 1/2 hp sprinkler pump, that will pump water out of a lake.
it is about an eighty foot run of wire to the outside box.
questions. i would like to install a switch on the outside box.
either a 220 or 110 switch. the pump can be wired for either 110 or 220.
in your opinion which would be the better way to go & what kind of switch/disconnect would work the best. thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-05-07, 03:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
I would use a two pole motor rated switch. If you need overload protection at the switch you can buy the ones that will accept overloads.

Be carefull on that breaker size. If you wire the pump 240 you should probably use a 20 amp breaker, By code you can use a 30 amp breaker ,but this is not necessary with type HCAR breakers.
 
  #3  
Old 04-05-07, 07:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
thanks jwhite,
this is the info i needed, very helpful & informative.
 
  #4  
Old 04-05-07, 10:11 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,337
I recommend that you wire the pump at 240V with a double-pole 20A or 30A breaker; it improves the efficiency of the circuit and prolongs pump motor life. The higher supply voltage reduces an electrical side-effect called "voltage drop" which occurs in long wires. Voltage drop causes motors to have trouble starting and to run hotter; a 240V supply to the motor will reduce the harmful effects of voltage drop.
 
  #5  
Old 04-06-07, 12:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
i took the advice, changed the 60 amp breaker to 30, installed 2 pole switch,
flipped the switch, and water, the pump hummed like a kitten, thanks, couldn't have done it without the clear advice.
 
  #6  
Old 04-06-07, 03:04 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Did you end up purchasing overloads, or does the pump have built in overload protection?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'