Kitchen Hood Installation Which Circuit??

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-10-07, 08:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Kitchen Hood Installation Which Circuit??

What electrical circuit should the kitchen hood be installed into?

I have 2 GFI 220 amp circuits - I know it cannot be installed on those

Can it be installed on the circuit with the lights?

Should it be installed on it's own dedicated circuit?

Could it be installed with the garage circuit?

Any help you can provide would be appreciated
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-10-07, 08:51 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Wink

Id say any of the above . They dont pulll much power. If you have the room on it own circuit
 
  #3  
Old 04-10-07, 09:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks

Is it ok to hook it up to the GFI circuits?
 
  #4  
Old 04-10-07, 09:23 PM
ddr
ddr is offline
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 133
Depending on the size of the motor in the exhaust hood, it can be pulling a few amps; be sure whatever circuit you use can handle the load. (Check the information plate/sticker to see what the maximum amperage is.)

In my opinion:

Hooking it up to a circuit with just lights should be okay.

Avoid putting it on the garage circuit.

Do not tap any counter top receptacles (these must serve only the counter top).

Avoid tapping a GFCI circuit; the motor could cause the GFCI to trip.
 
  #5  
Old 04-10-07, 09:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
A dedicated 20-amp circuit would be my first choice. That way you're all set if you later decide you want one of those hood/microwave combos.

The lighting circuit would probably be my next choice.

The garage circuit may or may not be okay. A lot of garage circuits are already loaded, and a lot of them also include the bathroom receptacles (in which case it's not legal to add the hood to it).
 
  #6  
Old 04-11-07, 05:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Smile

Thanks - this information is very helpful. I will try to either use the circuit with the lights or have a dedicated one. Just didn't want to use a dedicated circuit if I don't have to
 
  #7  
Old 04-13-07, 01:20 AM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Red face

Hmmm... I am guessing one of my kitchen circuits is not up to code then. Just got done mapping out my entire house minutes ago and here's what's on my hood circuit:

[20 amp]
- Range hood
- Microwave & electric skillet receptacle (no GFCI)
- 1 dining room receptacle
- 1 living room receptacle
- Dining room ceiling fan
- Living room lights
- Front porch light
- Washer
- Dryer (gas)
- Sump pump

No joke. (Although yes it's worth a chuckle) The washer/dryer/sump will be easy enough to put another circuit in for 'em, but the rest will have to stay as-is for a looong time. All plaster here, no junction boxes, and some K&T here and there.
 
  #8  
Old 04-13-07, 06:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Not code in 2007. But probably code in 1936.
 
  #9  
Old 04-13-07, 07:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Code now would require one 20 amp circuit for the laundry, which would mean just the washer and dryer, unless the sump pump happened to be in the "laundry room".

I would at the very least separate out the washer, dryer and sump pump from that circuit, especially if they are easy, as you indicate they are.

As for the rest of the circuit, consider at some point addressing the kitchen and dining room issue. I like dedicated circuits for microwaves, even if they are counter top units.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'