Upgrading 150amp service to 250amp

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-15-07, 08:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 18
Upgrading 150amp service to 250amp

We are upgrading 150amp service to 200amp to handle new pool electrical needs. Our current 150amp service comes in from an aerial feed on the north side of the house. However, instead of coming in above the roof, it comes in to the PVC pipe alongside the house.

One of the electricians we brought in said it was now necessary to bring the service in through a pipe above the roofline. Is this a code requirement?

We have a shingled roof on top of a wood frame. The eave sticks out about 1ft. what is the best way to punch a hole through the eave for the conduit? How should it be sealed to prevent leaks?

They also said that it is required now to have a disconnect switch for the electrical. The way it is setup now is:

150 amp electrical service line -> electrical meter -> 2 1/2" conduit under the house for approximately 50 ft -> 150 amp circuit breaker panel

Does this mean we need to setup as follows:

200 amp electrical service line -> 200 amp disconnect breaker -> 2 1/2" conduit under the house for 50 ft -> 200 amp circuit breaker panel
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-15-07, 11:05 AM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
do you really need to upgrade this service? I mean, you are only increasing the service by 50 amps. Doesn;t seem worth the effort.

becasue of the distance from the meter to the service panel, you would need a disconnect in most jurisdictions. Reason; the wire between the meter and the panel is currrently only protected by the POCO's fusing. Way to high for you lines.

actually, I surprised this ever passed, unless it is very old.


arial service. too many questions not answered to make a call. Code does allow an open drop if it falls within the codes requiremnts of height, proximity to windows and doors and such. I would tend to accept the electricians call on this without any more info given here.

hole in the roof; a hole saw or recipercating saw to cut it. a roofing boot to sela it. If you do not know how to do it (it isn;t reaqlly hard) you might want to enlist the aid of a roofer to be sure it is weatherproof.
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-07, 11:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 18
upgrade

Does the disconnect go before the meter normally or after the meter? Just trying to visualize how this will go together.
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-07, 11:59 AM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
after the meter.

they do make meters with a disconnect built in (actually it is a service panel)

here is a page from Milank manufcturing that lists their meter sockets w/ main breaker panels combinations

http://www.milbankmfg.com/products/commercialsockets/utilitysocketquick.asp#metermain
 

Last edited by nap; 04-15-07 at 12:11 PM.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'