wiring shop for 220v

Old 04-16-07, 09:49 PM
wiring shop for 220v

Hi,Firstly I'll say,I'm not an electrician...As the favorite goes,I know just enough to be dangerous...I've reached a point that the work is shutdown,till I get a better understanding on a few areas.I have two areas of questions,one being at the start of the power run,and the other being at the end.I have had a home hobby shop built,it is wired,and all lighting,and recepticals are in place.... I have but one 220v outlet it is on a 30amp breaker,and the rest are all 110v... This is in the shop I speak of.On the wall inside the shop is a Cutler Hammer 200amp,box.With a 200amp main installed..... I have got to run power out to this bldng,and connect it up myself.Here's where the questions come in.I'll add this much before the questions.I have already trenched,and ran 4 legs of #4 wire,inside gray shl 40 PVC.All's left to do is connect up the ends.I will be utilizing a 80amp breaker to run the 220v out there.As I stated on 4 legs of #4 wire.To start,I have installed a 125amp,Siemens box which will house the 80amp breaker.It is mounted right along side(1' distance) my main box.Which is a 200amp Squard D box.I ran three legs of #2 wire to this Siemens box,from my main,on a 100amp breaker.the Siemens box,with the 80amp breaker has but one bar,and it is setup as a common.My ententions are to then run from this 80amp box,out to the shop all of this is behind the 100amp breaker thats in the main.So actually I have two breakers,that are backing this run.I utilized the Siemens box,due to the fact that I didnt need 100 amps out there,and that #4 wire,is much cheaper than #2.........Yes I could have ran the 80amp directly from my main box,but it was getting crowded,and I need more room.So I opted for another box,with it's own 80amp breaker.... So If your still with me,I'll continue.I'm almost to the questions.I figure you need all the info you can get... Sometimes you don't get a second chance to be wrong.I have a