New 220V Garage Circuit...GFCI??

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-20-07, 10:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
New 220V Garage Circuit...GFCI??

I am adding a new 220V garage circuit for the purpose of running a welder and any future tools (not at the same time). The welder current draw is rated at 22amps max.

I am running a new circuit and I want as much future flexibility as possible. I only need a 10/2 run on a double pole 30amp breaker, but will run 10/3 for flexibility.

Since this is a general purpose garage outlet, how do I add GFCI to a 220V circuit most economically or do I even need it at all? I didn't find any GFCI L6-30 outlets, there were some double pole 60amp breakers (didn't find double 30amp) but they were $$$.

Also, this is not really necessary and I don't think there is a proper way but is there a way to leverage a 10/3 circuit for both 220V and 110V outlets?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-20-07, 10:50 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
It is not required , nor is it even a good idea . The GFCI would trip the moment you struck an arc.

for 120/240 you need three wires, two hots and a neutral. And of course your ground. If you do run 10/3 then you could change to this config later in time.

However you can not have any duplex receptacles on this circuit. Run your 10/2 on a 30 amp for your welder . Run a seperate circuit for your outlets and protect them with a proper breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 04-21-07, 12:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Ah. I'm relieved that I don't need to worry about the GFCI.

Thanks.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes