Cable run questions

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-23-07, 04:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arlington
Posts: 181
Cable run questions

1. Can I run (3) 12-2wg & (1) 12-3wg through a 7/8" hole in a double 2x4 top plate? Any chance I could make that (4) 12-2 & (1) 12-3? They are for bathroom lights & exhaust fan.

2. Can I staple the cables side by side running up the center of the stud? I was going to staple the (4) cables in pairs, run along side each other.

Thanks,
Dan
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-23-07, 07:05 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
1. Don't cram the wires in. Why drill one large hole when two or more smaller holes work better?

2. Use stackers, available at your home center.
 
  #3  
Old 04-23-07, 07:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arlington
Posts: 181
1. It's 107 year old remodel. Why they framed some of this crap the way they did is beyond me, but I only have a couple inches to get my wires through the top plate into the attic area. Not enough room for another hole. I think I can route one of the wires another way, so would (2) 12-2 & (1) 12-3 be ok in a 7/8" hole?

2. I'll look for some.

Thanks,
Dan
 
  #4  
Old 04-23-07, 10:22 AM
Q Brizzle's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southern Wisconsin
Posts: 110
you'll know when you've put too many wires through an opening. As John said, don't cram them through. They should each have a little breathing room. If you are concerned, do a test on a scrap of 2x4, and run your wires through that first.

This past weekend I did a lot of this type of work (kitchen remodel, re-routing cables through the top-plate)...and a 1" hole is plenty of room for (1) 12/3wg, and (3) 14/2wg. This also depends on the NM cable you are running. In my house, the original cable has a very thick jacket, and relatively thick wire insulation. The new NM "romex" I put in is very slim by contrast...
 
  #5  
Old 04-23-07, 04:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
It is time to buy a 1 1/4 in drill bit and some nail plates.

As already said use stackers, do not staple the wires up beside eachother.
 
  #6  
Old 04-24-07, 03:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arlington
Posts: 181
I ran one cable another way & tried running just three cables through the hole last night & they went fine & are not crammed in by any means, so I think that will be fine.

I started another thread with a cable stacker question.

Thanks for the help again!
Dan
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'