3-way switch requirement.

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-23-07, 11:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 247
3-way switch requirement.

what is the code requirment for 3-way switches? somebody told me if two entries into a room (like a kitchen) are 6 feet apart, you need to install them. Any idea?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-23-07, 01:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
The US National code only requires one switch to a room. The only requirement for 3-way switches is at the top and bottom of stairs (with some exceptions).

Local codes vary, and if you're outside the US, then I don't know. Please fill in your location in your profile.
 
  #3  
Old 04-23-07, 01:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 247
Thank you. NJ.
A local electrician told me so. But 3-way switch does provide convenience.
 
  #4  
Old 04-23-07, 01:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Remember that the code is a minimum standard. You can exceed the code. You can have receptacles spaced closer than 12 feet in a room; you can have more than two small appliance circuits in the kitchen; and you can have more than one switch controlling a light.

Now that does not mean you should go overboard, but I would certainly use one switch at each entrance to a room, especially a kitchen which might just have a kitchen table that could get bumped into on the dark.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes