slack left at pull point

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-24-07, 02:15 PM
ddr
ddr is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 133
slack left at pull point

When you use a junction box as a pull point for wires that pass through, is there a required amount of slack to be left in the box?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-24-07, 02:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
There should be at least six inches of each conductor from where it emerges from the sheathing, which should be about 1/4" from where the cable enters the box. Feel free to leave more.
 
  #3  
Old 04-24-07, 02:36 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
If this is conductors in conduit then no. No slack is required in your scenario.
 
  #4  
Old 04-24-07, 07:20 PM
ddr
ddr is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 133
Thanks guys.

Speedy: Good call -- I was, in fact, refering to a conduit situation but neglected to specify that in my original post.
 
  #5  
Old 04-25-07, 03:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
I once saw a j box used as just a pull box for romex. I am not kidding.

about 50 foot of romex had been pulled through the box. I could not stop laughing for 15 minutes.
 
  #6  
Old 04-25-07, 07:31 AM
ddr
ddr is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 133
I can only imagine what "creative" work you folks have seen. There should be an electrical sub-forum where you could tell your stories -- it would be fun (frightening?) to read.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'