30 amp Breaker question

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-29-07, 07:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 62
Arrow 30 amp Breaker question

I have a empty 30 amp breaker now and what I want to know is can you use ths to make a small sub panel out of. What I want to do is to use it for a few out lighting areas. how many outlets can come off it. Or can I make a small sub panel from this
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-29-07, 07:34 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Spare space in a panel does not mean spare electrical capcity.

We need to know the size of the panel (100 amp, 200 amp)
We need to know how much load is on it now.
Size of house, size of major appliances including range, water, hvac, heat strips, dryer, washer etc. All of them.

Then we need to do a load calculation on the existing service.
 
  #3  
Old 05-01-07, 12:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
You can use the 30A breaker to supply a small 4 circuit panel, with up to four 15A breakers.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes