60 amp breaker at meter 100 amp at main panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-01-07, 01:14 PM
pgtek's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: north Carolina
Posts: 1,391
60 amp breaker at meter 100 amp at main panel

hi
i bought a mobile home and at the meter box there a breaker listed 60 amp
inside the mobile home there a breaker panel and the main breaker is listed 100 amp?????????

i think it should be not more than the one in the meter box?
or i need to change the electrical wire and the main breaker at the meter box to be 100 as the one inside the mobile home
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-01-07, 01:20 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,342
Your mobile home has a 60A service which is legal for existing installations. The 100A breaker at the panel is acceptable, because it is being protected by the 60A breaker upstream.
 
  #3  
Old 05-01-07, 01:26 PM
pgtek's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: north Carolina
Posts: 1,391
thanks for the input
can i do that myself?
i have 3 yrs as an aprentice electrician or do i need to get an electrician do do it
i live in lakeland fl
the last time i had that done i call and electrician to do the job he charge me 350 and he got the parts and he said he forgot one so i did all the connection and ran the wires from the panel to the meter, he came back 2 hours later and said i did a good job and i help him to connect the wires to the meter
he tank me for helping and gave me 20 bucks and i gave him 350
 
  #4  
Old 05-01-07, 01:58 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,342
Oh, I thought this was already connected.

You may or may not be able to re-use the existing 60A service. Current electrical code requires a minimum 100A service to dwellings. You'll have to contact the local building department and ask if 60A services are allowed for mobile homes in your area.

If the service does need to be upgraded, it is usually not a do-it-yourself job. Upgrading the service requires replacement of the four conductors (or cable assembly) between the meter and the panel and sometimes replacement of the meter base.
 
  #5  
Old 05-01-07, 02:12 PM
pgtek's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: north Carolina
Posts: 1,391
Talking

hi
thanks for the imput
i'm already connected it just wanted to be safe that's all
 
  #6  
Old 05-01-07, 02:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
What you have is perfectly safe.

The 100 amp breaker protects the circuit breaker panel.

The 60 amp breaker protects the cable feeding the panel.
 
  #7  
Old 05-02-07, 04:07 AM
pgtek's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: north Carolina
Posts: 1,391
thank you all for the feedback
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'