What size 240v breaker for new oven?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-02-07, 07:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 279
What size 240v breaker for new oven?

I have a new double wall oven on the way. I don't have the manual needless to say.
I can tell the oven requires a ganged 240 volt breaker, that I understand OK.
The specifications states it's rated at some 6500 watts. So I breaker this thing at what? 30 amps, or 40 amps?
I am guessing it should be a 40 amp and #8 wire.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-02-07, 07:34 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,537
You have to look at the manufacturer's installation instructions for two important details: 1) what is the max OCPD rating, and; 2) does the oven require 240V or 120/240V supply? The OCPD rating tells you the correct breaker and wire size, and the supply voltage tells you how many wires the oven needs.

If the OCPD is 30A, you need #10 wire; 40A, #8 wire; or 50A, #6 wire. If the voltage is 240V only, then you need two hots and a ground (e.g. 8/2g NM-B cable). If the voltage is 120/240V, then you need two hots, a neutral, and a ground (e.g. 8/3g NM-B cable).

If you don't have the installation instructions, check the manufacturer's website for the manual.
 
  #3  
Old 05-02-07, 07:47 PM
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Spunaway
Posts: 20
6500/240=27.8

You should be fine with 30a breaker. New installs for dbl ovens always get #8 4wire and 40a breaker. If it was mine and working with existing wiring I would be perfectly happy with #10cu and 30, if I was wiring my own house #8 4wire and 30.
 
  #4  
Old 05-03-07, 10:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 279
I downloaded the manual from an online source.
It states that I should supply a 120/240v source fused or breakered at 30 amps.
I am surprised that it's not a 40 amp requirement but it saves me money installing the new wiring and such.
 
  #5  
Old 05-03-07, 10:51 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
120/240 means 10-3 with ground cable. However, if the distance is significant you might want to use 8-3 with ground.
 
  #6  
Old 05-11-07, 12:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 279
Yes, my run is 65' from the panel so I am stepping up to 8/3 and the 40 amp breaker.
 
  #7  
Old 05-11-07, 01:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
If it states a 30 amp breaker then use a 30 amp breaker. Do NOT upsize the breaker just because you are upsizing the cable.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes