Pool Pump Wiring Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-03-07, 09:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Pool Pump Wiring Question

Hello to all-
20A non-GFCI breaker to conduited #10-3 wire. In the outside JB the hot leg is wire nutted down to #12 wire which goes to a 20A GFCI outlet. #12 wire leaves GFCI as also #12 wire to 2 SPST switches in parallel, one of which controls the pool light, the other controls the pool pump. The wires leaving the switches step back up to #10 gauge. So far so good. However, I am installing a 1.5 HP replacement pool pump which specifies a 30A breaker and #10 wire. So my question is, are the two swithces which are 15A rated, and the GFCI which is 20A rated sufficient if I replace all #12 gauge with #10 gauge. Or, do they make 30A rated GFCI's and 30A rated switches? Or must I purchase a 30A GFCI circuit breaker, ditch the 20A GFCI recepticle and purchase 30A rated switches?
Thanks in advance!
Ray
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-03-07, 09:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You need to have two circuits. You need a 30 amp circuit for the pump, and a 15 or 20 amp circuit for the light.
 
  #3  
Old 05-03-07, 10:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Hi Bob-
This is the original wiring which is about 30 years old. I am pretty sure that code has changed since then, however, rather than run new conduit from my basement to an outside JB which will entail much work, the load calculation for my pump is 18.75 amps plus 4.2 amps for a 500 watt pool light is less than 80% continuous duty. Am I missing something? I cannot pull new wiring into existing conduit (at least I don't think so as this is 1" conduit). Can I safely pull new wire into the existing conduit without exceeding the fill capacity of this conduit?
Thanks again.
ray
 
  #4  
Old 05-03-07, 10:23 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You are not allowed to protect the light with a 30 amp breaker. It's not allowed.

What about your convenience receptacle, the one located more then 10 feet but less than 20 feet from the pool? Can you extend that circuit?

Yes, you can add two more wires to the conduit. Use a #10 ground, a #10 hot and neutral, and a #20 hot and neutral.
 
  #5  
Old 05-03-07, 10:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Bob-
OK. You answered the question on why I need the two circuits. That explains the 20A breaker, and 20A GFCI to protect the light. I have a correction- the conduit is only 3/4". Still OK to pull 3 #12 wires in addition to the #10-3 already in the conduit? I will use the existing 10-3 for the pool pump and protect with a GFCI breaker. I will connect the the newly pulled #12-3 to the convenience GFCI recepticle and from there to the pool light. Sound O.K?
Thanks again.
Ray
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes