Extra white wire???

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-12-07, 12:09 PM
salongirl456's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Red face Extra white wire???

Ok, here is the situation. Updating the light switches in my entrance. Three switches are there. One for the porch, one for the pole, and one for the inside entrance. Took off the cover plate and found three way switches. I bought toggle switches.....hmmmm. So, upon pulling all three switches from the wall, two were a snap to redo. (the second two) The first switch in line however had 2 white and one black wire. One white went into the common plunge thing and then one black and one white were in the top plunge things. I put the black and white that were at the top on the side nuts of my new switch.... not sure what to do with the second white wire. Oh, and the switch doesn't work. The other two do, but not the first one.

Help me puhlease. Do I put both white wires together on the same nut? Do I piggy back it to something else? Probably a simple solution, I just don't know what it is.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-12-07, 12:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
Go out and buy the proper three way switch. It will have three screw positions. Note carefully which wire was connected to the black common screw of your old switch. Connect that wire to the common screw of your new switch. It might not be in the same position as the old switch.
 
  #3  
Old 05-12-07, 01:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
As joed said, take the two way switches back and buy the proper three way switches.

When you get the new switches do NOT use the "plunge things" which are more properly called back stabs. They are prone to failure. Instead use the screw terminals.
 
  #4  
Old 05-12-07, 02:24 PM
salongirl456's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Is there something wrong with using the toggle kind with the screws on the sides?
 
  #5  
Old 05-12-07, 02:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
If you originally had three way switches, then you need to replace with three way switches. This is necessary to continue to be able to control the light from more than one place.

However, I suspect that you did not originally have three ways witches, at least not for all of them, and that you need to figure out what you did have.

Bottom line: Use the same type of switches (two way or three way) as were originally installed, and connect the wires in the same manner.
 
  #6  
Old 05-12-07, 04:45 PM
salongirl456's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
ok... got it. Thanks for your help! I'm off to go buy some three ways!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'